Is Rejection a Form of Success?

Portrait of Alfred Nobel (1833-1896) by Gösta ...

Portrait of Alfred Nobel (1833-1896) by Gösta Florman (1831–1900). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

There are many people on WordPress who have few followers, so few they can keep track of how many comments they have compared to how many page views they’ve received.  It seems there are a few dissatisfied customers out there in InterZone who get a bit pissy when they get “liked” but not read.

I know this because I’ve read their complainsts…as if they’re being robbed somehow.  Good gosh, people…I just wrote a post that got 28 views so far and only eleven “likes.”  That’s nearing a 67% rejection rate…67% ! ! !

 

I wouldn’t have even noticed unless I had seen these whiney posts before, criticizing social media surfers for “liking” pages without reading them…as if they had posted a Nobel Prize winning blog post and it had been slighted by fickle viewers desperate for a gratuitous return “like” as repayment.

 

Twenty-eight views with only eleven likes…take that, whiners.  I’ll give them all to you, para gratis.

The humble service I provide  writing a post that draws people’s attention, and then leaves them with the sour taste of not being properly entertained is more satisfying than 100 or 200 or 300 “likes” from people who feel obligated because, “…everybody else is liking it, so it’s got to be good…” or “…this so-called human has been posting for 23 years, and they’ve gotten 142 likes in eighteen minutes – If I ‘like’ them maybe they’ll ‘like’ me too…” click.  Que milagro !

In a world of miracles, Que Mi-la-gro !

English: Fats Waller, three-quarter length por...

English: Fats Waller, three-quarter length portrait, seated at piano, facing front. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Somebody shoot me while I’m happy, ” Fats Waller used to yell out when he was hitting his stride playing some of the most wicked boogie-woogie piano ever heard on this planet, or any other, I’m sure.   Why no Nobel Prize for Musical Mayhem, Fats?  Loser….

 

I just received a letter…and in a beach town in Costa Rica, that’s a miracle.  And, guess what…there are estimators and judges of true miracles at work here…I have been nominated for the first Nobel Prize in Blogosphere Literature.

 

Yes, my name will soon be mentioned along with the giants…the innovators of humankind…the pioneers who were spurned and denigrated.  (Not that I’ve been spurned or denigrated…I really am that literry light who got 142 “likes” in eighteen minutes…I just felt a bit embarrassed).

 

 

I’m thinking my portrait will fit right in with the other winners of Nobel Prizes…especially the Nobel Peace Prize, set up by the guy who invented dynamite…yeah, Alfred Nobel invented dynamite…putting that in my next blog, while I’m standing on the shoulders of giants, as Sir Isaac Newton said.  I am a humble human being though, and I have no foothold on the Newts giant shoulders.

English: Nobel Peace Prize 2008, Martti Ahtisaari

English: Nobel Peace Prize 2008, Martti Ahtisaari (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I dined on bad pizza tonight, in a land of fresh vegetables and miracle fruits…yeah…make your own punch-lines.

“Hold on to your hats,” as Bette Davis said in “All About Eve” because sweet ioniamartin just “liked” my last post…she might even leave a kind, patronizing comment.  I do know she secretly hates me and my meteoric rise to the top of the blogging world, so she’s skewed my previous calculations on purpose.

But that kind of pandering is not going to sway the Nobel Prize judges.  They only award these valued chunks of metal to unknowns, branded lunatics, shut-in charlatans, and untelligible fools…and I’m not going to lower the tone of this prize, no matter what ioniamartin has to say about me or my mad ramblings.

I deserve my just rewards…and a free trip to Scaninavia, home of my Viking, Dyamite Developing ancestors…so give in, and give it up.

A Dengue Alley Muscle ShotI’m waiting…celebrting…

 

94 thoughts on “Is Rejection a Form of Success?

  1. Wow, i really had to crawl aaaaaaaall the way down! I mean seriously, this was one of those reads which spin your head all around and you don’t have time to think of your own experiences and opinions here !
    I am brimming here with a sister’s pride 🙂 I am amazed at the magic you always put forth ! I am so frizzled by all the comments that I can hardly say much about the post itself 🙂
    Luego baray bhai 🙂

    • coyotero2112 says:

      There is a lot you missed, and I was thinking a lot about you when I wrote much of it. I am re-posting some stuff on a site that pays, so I’ve deleted quite a few posts since they don’t like it published on other sites.
      Later…

  2. Ah, Alfred Nobel, the man so hated by his own people that when there had been a rumor he and his brother had died in an explosion the newspapers celebrated. Alfred must have had some mind-bogglingly large amount of bad karma on his shoulders to inspire him to do what he did for peace and literature. Still, his guilt is our gain. Just promise me you’ll mention me by name in your acceptance speech =)

    • coyotero2112 says:

      You seem to have as much trivia clutter in your head as I do, and that doesn’t seem a bit strange, which is strange, I guess. Always a treat to hear from you.
      Later…

      • Haha! yes, and they say an American public education isn’t worth the paper it’s printed on. We lead the world in useless pop culture trivia! (did I say useless? naw, I’m sure my vast knowledge of tv jingles will pay off … at some far distant point) always a pleasure to read your thoughts, my friend. cheers!

  3. Robynn Gabel says:

    I use my blog to just keep up my writing skills. If someone reads it, that is just a plus. I don’t keep track of stats. But I do return the favor of likes by checking out the person’s own blog. If I like it, I note that, if I don’t, well, I’m just a statistic then. LOL Great blog. Makes one think.

  4. jannatwrites says:

    Great post! I gave up tracking stats long ago. I’m not going to be a big dog when it comes to likes or comments – and that’s really okay. I have many regular visitors and commenters that make it FUN!

    I also don’t do the reciprocal ‘obligation’ likes. I don’t want to bring the currency of my ‘likes’ down by over using them (Not that they are really worth anything, anyway :)) I do have to admit that it is a bit discouraging when I see a blog that’s been around for a few months and has 3 times more followers than mine (after three years!) That’s when I remind myself that I was happy before I saw their numbers, so I shall remain happy!

    • coyotero2112 says:

      More power to you. It was just a late-night rant that I don’t even remember writing…but it had been brought up by some anal weirdos, and I’m still getting used to social media, so it interests me in a cultural sense. I’m happy with my thirty or forty regulars who comment thoughtfully.
      Later…

  5. Melissa (Janda) nominated your blog for an award, so I’m here to check it out. Man, I’m glad I did. I love your writing style! I’ve just written a post myself, viewed 36 times and “liked” 11 times—a 70% rejection rate! Not to mention some of those “likes” are fake. 😉

    Before reading this I didn’t even pay attention to my “likes.” I prefer comments anyways.

    Yes, I disapprove of people mass-fake-“liking” posts without even reading them, let alone actually liking them, just to generate traffic to their oh-so-darn-amazing blogs. But seriously, people have just got to stop whining about it. There’s no point in making yourself miserable over something so simple.

    At the end of the day, writing is not about popularity and real-vs-fake fans. OK, yes, I liked this post and I followed your blog. But you don’t have to like and follow me back. It’s not twitter, for Christ’s sake. 😉

    • coyotero2112 says:

      Another fellow traveler. I follow odd trails, this one brought on by the posts I read complainin about their ratio, then looking at mine for the first time. It was a late-night, post happy hour rant, and I can’t even remember what I wrote…but I’m going to go check it out. The likes don’t stress me, although it’s nice to be appreciated, and that is the method provided, but comments and such are a signal that I hit a note that resonated with quite a few people. When I write for free I’d like it to bring some satisfaction, or relief, or sense of community of common thought. I’m so erratic it will be interesting to see if I’m ever read so much again. Thanks for the comment.
      Later…

  6. Great post! I was beginning to think it was just me who couldn’t see the point of confetti likes and follow yous/follow mes. There seem to be a lot of people out there who cultivate a following, like having 1000 friends on Facebook they’ve never met and probably wouldn’t like if they did ….
    Thanks for making me feel less of a ‘bah Humbug’!!

    • coyotero2112 says:

      I sometimes – often – feel like I’m on an ice berg, or marooned on a rock, when I see posts like the one that inspired this late-night, post happy hour rant. I found out I’m not. I’m so new to social media that the cultural ins and outs interest me, though most people are more used to it all. So, I write about it, thinking no one will care…and I found out I was wrong…again.
      Later…

  7. melissajanda says:

    Oops! Forgot to hit that “like” button. I’ll go do it now. LOL.

    • coyotero2112 says:

      I know…I felt an itch behind my left knee – always a sign of not being liked by someone. Then, it went away…the relief of being liked. You’re too funny, must be one of ioniamartin’s gang, or she one of yours.
      Later…

  8. melissajanda says:

    Sheesh! Didn’t realize the “like” button was causing so much grief in the blogosphere. I have to admit I’ve read posts I thoroughly enjoyed but then noticed later that I didn’t press the “like” button on a few (or maybe it was the WordPress Gremlins, who knows?). While I do appreciate the “likes” I get on a post it’s not something that I lose sleep over. I’ve really enjoyed getting to know others (like you) through reading their blog and commenting back and forth. By the way, I stopped by to let you know I nominated you for an award. So, obviously, I LIKE you! Great post!
    You can find the details on the award in this post: http://melissajanda.wordpress.com/2013/05/15/more-awards-im-not-worthy/

    • coyotero2112 says:

      No grief here…no sleep lost here, since I rarely sleep anyway. I’m just new to social media culture, and I have written several posts about the manical, addictive, and needy attitudes I’ve seen in some posts. I’m going to have to go and read what I wrote in that post, becaue it seems to have struck a note that drew some attention and/or appreciation with a few people. Thanks for the comment and the like (I’m a tramp, I like being liked, just don’t think about it when I’m writing for free), and the nomination. I am not an awards type of guy…a comment, a kind note of appreciation, and the thought mean more to me – so…I appreciate it.
      Later…

  9. WyndyDee says:

    Reblogged this on Wyndy Dee and commented:
    I’m a chronic “like” reblog addict, but I can honestly say I read most of the posts, if not completely, partially. :-)~

  10. mrs fringe says:

    I viewed it, I read it, and I “liked it,” so there :insert Bronx cheer here: Can I have my Pulitzer now? How about an O’Henry?
    Honestly, I’ve seen complaints from differing angles on this, and just don’t see where I’d get worked up. Likes are nice, no likes mean nothing, comments are golden. I’ll even admit, sometimes I read a post and like it but don’t comment because I’m too damned tired. Sometimes you just have to–like eating bad pizza when you could be having a freshly picked mango.

    PS: Please stop holding back your dark satirical thoughts. 🙂
    Mrs F

    • coyotero2112 says:

      Fringe’s orders…I’ll ask to have the restraints loosened so I can tap the keys with my thumbs.
      later…

      • mrs fringe says:

        Or toes. They work too, and I assume you’re already barefoot. 😀

        • coyotero2112 says:

          Damn…you always remind me of things I think I know. How many inspirational stories have I seen of arm-less humans leading lives as stock brokers, car sales scum, or DMV snags with only their feet and toes to carry them through their hectic day? I’m inspired. Thanks.
          Later…

          • mrs fringe says:

            My work is done.
            😉

          • mrs fringe says:

            PS: A bonus video on my post today, I think you’ll like it 🙂

            but perhaps not “like” it, lol!

            • coyotero2112 says:

              A lot of people commented on why I don’t like “likes”…but I love them ! Just struck me how many non-likers I had the first time I ever checked them against views. Yeah…saw the video when I came in out of the daily downpour. Might be the internet here, but the video lags, and being a musician I always watch what is being done and how…and the violin music when he’s not playing, and playing when there’s no riff…and the prcussionist. Like late night Japanese movies from the . . . 1970s.
              Later…

              • mrs fringe says:

                I like it all, views, likes, comments. Gosh, I’m a tramp. 😉

                Oh, sorry the video lagged for you, I love Jean Luc Ponty, have spent many, many hours listening to him.

                • coyotero2112 says:

                  My ‘puter is clocking out…had to go to dashboard. Just watched “Sir Duke” by Little Stevie, or Big Stevie Wonder, now, and got the same thing. The last computer geek I had look at this thing just grunted…like, “Why fix that? Throw it out…in somebody else’s garbage.”
                  Tramp? That’s not what it says about you on the back of a bus seat I was looking at on the way to Huacas the other day.
                  Later…

                  • mrs fringe says:

                    Heh, you have my sympathies on the computer troubles. Mine likes to freeze with every click, take a nap, and then load the page or pull up the document in sloooooow motion.

                    I hope the bus graffiti told you what a good time you’ll have. 867-5309 😉

  11. Ionia’s post led me here, and I had to laugh! I wasn’t aware this was a thing (I try to keep my like-a-holic tendencies to Facebook as well – considering it’s the only way to keep up with all the stuff on there). I enjoy my likes – they’re from a lovely group of people!

  12. janna hill says:

    Sometimes the like button will dispense candy. It’s a random thing like slot machines. 😉

  13. Seyi sandra says:

    I had tears in my eyes for laughing so hard! I love you, your blog and this POST. Great job, and ioniamartin is a very good friend, she actually loves your post!! 🙂

  14. Kira says:

    I really enjoyed your post. But I have to say that the comments were just as interesting. Ionia ROCKs and I’m grateful that her post led me over here again. I actually prefer having a smaller group of followers so that I can get to know them through reading their blogs and our interaction through comments. I abhor FaceBook…I wonder if I just got on somebody’s “watch list” for stating that? lol Thank you again for this comment stimulating post 🙂

    • coyotero2112 says:

      Thank you…I also find a lot of posts just rolling through a reader page doesn’t allow you to even see a lot of the posts people you’ve come to “know” have put up. In the few months I’ve done this I’ve jettisoned quite a few people who got a “follow” and then were never heard from again…just flotsam floating by on the reader. If FaceBook has a watch list, well…we’re really in some trouble. Thanks for stopping by, and the comment.
      Later…

      • Kira says:

        Every once in a blue moon I look at the reader, but it never seems to work when I’ve tried it. Therefore, after the first couple of failed attempts I’ve ignored it! I have a core group of people I interact with so I just check their blogs to read the posts.

        Hope you have a good day 🙂

  15. I wouldn’t count the 17 page views that didnt like you as ‘hating’ you. At worst, it was a ‘meh.’

    Most likely, it was a page refresh.

    All told, thats a pretty freakin high like-to-view ratio, if you ask me.

  16. I saw this via angelicreader, and I must say, I’m impressed! I’m glad there are other people out there who aren’t all caught up in how many pageviews/likes/followers they have. What makes me beyond happy is the people who are actually there to strike up conversations about whatever, rather than those who are just there to get a “like”. Though I know a million other people have said it, great post!

    • coyotero2112 says:

      Thanks. I’m a bit surprised, considering my internal editor had gone home by the time I de-Happy Houred and wrote that. It sure has helped me to cull some of the deadwood from my reader board. Love to hear comments from the like-minded on this subject.
      Later…

  17. I like your stuff and have since I started reading it. I like Pamela,Olivia Charles Words4 and Ionia’s too. My names John and I am a like-a-holic. Don’t want anything from anybody

    • coyotero2112 says:

      You are one of the more thoughtful, articulate and interesting people on WordPress. I’ve been doing some sorting, and dis-owning lately to be rid of the like-a-holics who clutter my reader, blocking out the real people. How’s it feel to be real? I’m making it my project for this week. Thanks for the comment, again.
      Later…

  18. sknicholls says:

    I am new to blogging. I am blogging as a creative outlet and for social interaction to some degree, getting to know other bloggers and fascinated with their genius. Also, the more I blog, the more crap I see, like people blogging their mental health issues without realizing they have them. How can you “like” those posts? I think ego is the problem. Does it really matter how many “like” you get? Do people really expect me to “like” something on their page simply because they “liked” something on mine? Same with “follows”? Am I supposed to be doing that? If I follow you are you supposed to follow me, and vice-a-verse? I enjoy comments because I feel that people are really engaged when they comment. The “likes” and the “follows” to me are simply an introduction to others. Am I supposed to be feeling obligated?

    • coyotero2112 says:

      Your comment seems dangerously sane. It’s the FaceBook immigrants and their mania for “likes” I think. I’ve written a couple of posts recently on Social Media Maniacs, and I found it sorted out the faux approval addicts and the honestly creative for me. Thanks for the comment…like you wrote, they’re worth more than a cursor click.
      Later…

  19. Great post and glad Ionia led me here. I didn’t even know there was a big thing about the ‘likes’ around here. Is the point of blogging to get attention or have fun and make new friends? Guess it’s different for everyone. Looking forward to reading more of your posts.

    • coyotero2112 says:

      I really think it’s FaceBook immigrants bringing their sense of self-esteem is gauged by frivolous “likes” attitude to somewhat less tainted social media sites. Artistic people tend to create out of an inner madness, and would do so if they had two followers…which a guy I follow does, and he’s brilliant, and doesn’t care if anyone knows it. Thanks for the comment…any friend of ionia’s is welcome at my mess of a blog.
      Later…

      • I can see the Facebook connection. It’s rife with people that hit ‘like’ on everything, including stuff where it looks odd. Liking a grandmother died post and not commenting is the worst I’ve seen so far.

        You make a good point with the artist factor. There’s a lot more work and heart in blog posts than a status update.

  20. words4jp says:

    congrats to you – i am on my knees bowing to your greatness:) I must admit it is easy to get caught up in the stats thing – i will say one thing – i have ‘liked’ many blogs – on my WP app on my smartphone – to notice when on the PC there was no like to behold! grrrrrr – technology.

    i love your blog – 🙂

    later dude…..

    • coyotero2112 says:

      Thanks, again. Weird how I pitch a post-happy hour bitch about view/like/comment ratio maniacs and I get more responses than ever. There are a few constant readers like yourself who I also read whenever my internet is working, but all these first-timers lead me to believe I stomped on a common nerve. The invisible “like” thing…WordPress is faulty in that area, and I had always blamed it on RACSA’s bad cyber techs.
      Later…

  21. Found it thanks to Readful things. I couldn’t agree more!

  22. Reblogged this on Why I Can't stop Reading and commented:
    I couldn’t agree more. Shouldn’t you be happy with what you have and stop worrying about what you don’t?

  23. Olivia Stocum says:

    I so hate you for getting that prize over me! Ionia loves me best, and I get LOTS of likes OK, so just OK then…. (Ack. Some people think they’re so great).

    • coyotero2112 says:

      That’s me…I stand on El Mirador, the highest point in Tamarindo and scream a list of my wonderous accomplishments night after night…and ionia has “liked” me twice…so beeet that ! Thanks for the fun reply.
      Later…

  24. katemsparkes says:

    I had no idea this was a thing. O.o

    • coyotero2112 says:

      Strange, no? I also did a post about a young poet who got slammed and told to stop writing by some commenter…”Social Media Maniacs…” I think. Of all things, I went to my spam and got an e-mail telling me “You may be the worst author ever.” InternetZone is a strange landscape. Later…

  25. I am appalled that your like ratio is overwhelmingly better than mine, and I was for sure counting on the Nobel Prize for Blogosphere Literature. Sigh. Well, the moving Fickle Finger of Fate writes, and having writ, moves on. It’s going to be a bumpy night.

    • coyotero2112 says:

      Yes, Bette-Quoter…gather Red and the Pack, tell Slow to boil water and cut strips from clean sheets. Your view/like ratio can’t be worse…can’t I have anything all my own? I’m beginning to sound like Scarlett O’Hara…boiling water and cutting sheets… Jeez, I’m lame.
      Later…

  26. dreamlandinsurgents says:

    I was going to comment and then I thought, why bother, no one will reply anyway….

    • coyotero2112 says:

      My secretarial staff always replies for me. I know, I’m the only one on that staff. I was expecting at least a lot of attack comments…but I’ll probably just get 100 views and two “likes” and I’ll starve for external validation. Thanks for the start of a comment..
      Later…

  27. TamrahJo says:

    This subject has been making the rounds lately – wonder what initially brought it up? I had one follower that asked what ‘stats page’ I was talking about and then came back over overjoyed to find out she has followers! Which I loved!

    I really hope to someday learn what started the whole “Likes” conversation – 🙂

    • coyotero2112 says:

      An infusion of FaceBook people, I’m thinking. My retired aunt and mother, and my young niece have ejucatet me about the mania, which brought on my rant about “Social Media Maniacs, etc. …” a week or so ago. I just live in a peaceful, small beach town with two dirt roads and an eight mile beach…I got to stir up my own trouble. Thanks for the fun comment.
      later…

  28. Oh dear, am I doomed???? I am lucky to get two “likes” a post. And, other than a faithful three or four, no comments. I guess I should pay more attention. But yet, if I must suffer this fate, I am in great company it seems. 😀

    • coyotero2112 says:

      We rally…we rail…we will prevail. A foundation, I’m thinking…Beck, Barr, and on and on. We’ll march on Washington, take over Elks Lodges and Eagles Halls from Tamarindo to Beck-Landia ! Thanks for helping me hold the flag high.
      Later….

  29. I had to laugh… really, I don’t get all that caught up in how many “likes” I get… in fact, I haven’t even paid attention to that… Was I suppose to? **blinks and looks around** shoot… and here I thought I was doing so good with this whole, blogging gig. Thought I even had it right! **grins** Loved the post, (although the ‘likers’ are a sad but true part of the net, I just don’t pay much attention…)

    • coyotero2112 says:

      Good for you…the beds in the VanityOverloadWard are full anyway. I slept well last night…must have been the sound of distant laughter. Thanks for the best comment a trickster can receive.
      Later….

      • Thats good, considering I am usually stuck over in either ThinksTooMuch or I’mNotWorthy *grins*
        And you are more than welcome, I have a deep love and affection for the wonderful trickster’s in the world, being a raven at heart! **grins**

  30. Val Mills says:

    Loved reading this and yes, I read it all the way through. Hmmm, I’d never considered my likes v. viewing rate … but then they are not great yet as I’ve only been in this part of the world a few months. Watch this space!!

    • coyotero2112 says:

      Me too…three months plus, but being my first and only experience with social media, I’m fascinated by the culture, and the wants, desires, and needs of that culture. Will watch, because I always do what I’m told. Thanks for commenting.
      Later…

  31. I came over from ioniamartin. Surely even they most confident and self accepting individual wouldn’t mind a little “like” now and then? Some people just don’t have enough to whine about. Or whinge about as we say in my neck of the woods. Personally, I can stand a like or two.

    • coyotero2112 says:

      I don’t mind…just thought the inversion of many complaints in my case was worth a few words…but, then what do I know? Just enough to get up some whinge. inoniamartin is too fun for wordage.
      Later…

  32. ioniamartin says:

    Reblogged this on readful things blog and commented:
    I just can’t find the words:)

  33. ioniamartin says:

    I’d like it a hundred times of I could. Thank you for giving the “like whiners” their just desserts. 🙂 I will now have to increase my status to celebrity as you have seen fit to mention me in a blog post with Alfred.

    • coyotero2112 says:

      People who come on with a – BANG – should stick together, you know. I hold off on some of my more dark, satirical thoughts…but just getting back from happy hour my interior editor had gone home for the day.
      Later…

Leave a Reply

