Monkey Business

Monkey Business

Becoming known as a local in a small town is a long process, even with the Howler monkeys. It takes more than a year, usually, and you’ve got to learn the language. My wife and I were out jungling around the other day looking for monkeys, and finally gave up and went to the beach. Something unusual happened. A troop of about twenty Howler monkeys were there, and they were on the move, not liking the wind, the approaching rain, and the people gathering at the beach bars for happy hour. They walked, one by one, down a fence we were standing next to, then jumped up into a tree right above us. I’ve learned to bark, hoot, and gutterly grunt like they do, so they stopped to check us out. I guess we’re gaining local standing, if only with the Howlers. Then the daily flood started and they went swinging off into the higher trees. This place is a miracle a day, if you stay awake, pay attention, and learn the language of the locals.
Aoooaaaghhhh – uugghhh – ugghhh…
Later…

16 thoughts on “Monkey Business

  1. Bizangelgirl55 says:

    Enjoyed reading this post. It’s unbelievable to me that these monkeys are around just like a cat or a dog, but then what do I know I live in a city we don’t hear howlers we hear traffic and the hustle and bustle that drives me crazy. I would love to live in a place like you where there is only nature around. I would surely integrate with the locals, no problem there. See you!

    • coyotero2112 says:

      It is unusual for a bit, having geckoes roam our apartment, and grasshoppers the size of Magic Markers, scorpions, even Iguanas surprising us in the strangest of places every day…then, when we go outside ! The birds that fly through our door or open windows are the worse…them I have to catch, or gently herd back out where they fare better.
      Later…

  2. jannatwrites says:

    It’s nice to be part of a community (even if it is monkeys!) Funny how they showed up after you quit looking.

    • coyotero2112 says:

      Often seems to be the case…look for something, can’t find it, let it go, and…there it (they) are. It’s a life lesson put forth by many spiritual texts, as well as self-help gurus, and my grandmother, who I trusted more than any of the other sources. Thanks for the fun comment.
      Later…

  3. Nice post. I’m glad you are fitting in there. Most monkeys I have met are very discerning so looks like you made the cut. The closest I will get to Howlers is my fishing shirt by Howler Brothers.

  4. jerwayne2013 says:

    wHAT A SHOT OF A HOWLER MONKEY–VERY PROFESSIONAL

  5. Being aware, blending in, respecting the locals – it all contributes. 🙂 Glad you’re learning the native tongue! It all sounds so much more ‘civilized’ that what most of us interact with daily.

    • coyotero2112 says:

      And they’re so easily satisfied…a tree with some food, a safe place to sleep, and a bit of communal chatter. Much to learn from the natural world around me as far as what I need and what I want. Thanks for another wonderful comment.
      Later…

    • coyotero2112 says:

      What a world ! The other day the wife and I were shooting photos on the beach and a storm was in the distance. She observed the wind was blowing the other way, I told her from my experience that meant nothing in the tropics. I urged her toward the cover of our favorite beach bar for happy hour, and then it started pouring, turning the roads into rivers of mud to the ocean beach. We agreed that every day was a miacle here if you wanted it to be…jungle trudge, monkey biz, beverages in hand as the rain came down so hard we had to yell over the drumming on the roof. Truly miraculous.
      Later…

      • You and your wife are far too adventurous for me and The Red Man. Demasiado agua…:)

        • coyotero2112 says:

          I have a hard time believing that…I get the Fear, as WS Burroughs put it, every time I imagine living in area where drunken college students gad about before sporting events yelling “Go Cocks,” and such. The wife…don’t know how she’d take it. Burroughs, one of my fave writers might have liked it, being gay and all…but you still numero uno con nos por viviendo alla. A big WOOOOOF to the pack, and a gentle sigh to you and the dauntless Pretty.
          Later…

Leave a Reply

